On Hermes’ feet

I am lying flat on my back in the guest bedroom, a dog on either side. The light outside my window is scant and grey. I hear the raucous shouts of children playing football in the long strip between our building and the next. The fan whirrs endlessly overhead. In the corner of the ceiling, a cobweb strand trembles. It is that indeterminate period between evening and night at the end of an indeterminate day. Productive? Wasted? I can’t tell.

There have been other evenings like this — too many for my liking. In this very room last month, probably with the same children playing downstairs. In the old house seven years ago with the sound of the TV in the hall (who was watching, I wonder?) In my Nagpur hostel room thirteen years ago with the champaca-laden branch pressed up against the window pane and the thud thud of the basketball from the court right outside. In my bedroom twenty years ago, a wall full of engineering books looming to one side and the comforting thought of the little stone Ganapati under the hibiscus bushes outside.

The other day, we were riding around the city, pointing out buildings and landmarks to my NRI nephew. And my mother-in-law remarked suddenly, “Sometimes, I feel we are just passing through.”

Or perhaps we are still and time is passing through us?

I see myself sprawled on the bed, once seventeen and then twenty four and thirty and thirty five. Like an insect pinned to an examination board. Alive, but not quite. The rooms change. The bedsheets change. The thoughts that crowd my mind change. But I?

I fear that I am still the same.

I fear that at fifty, I will lie on another bed and watch the day fade away. Like before, like now. And perhaps then, I will sit up and stretch, pull my hair back into a tight bun I will regret, walk over to a diary or a laptop, and with hesitant fingers, try to conjure up words to ward off my fears.

7 thoughts on “On Hermes’ feet

  1. wow!! well put!! literally going thru the same phase…wonder if I am passing through or the time is passing through me…. 😥

    1. Sometimes I feel it is one and sometimes, the other. I wonder if everyone feels this way or just those of us who tend to overthink.

      1. Overthinking in terms of our expectations from our selves. And the inability to accept the present…I feel due to this we get trapped in a vicious circle and end up wasting our present too. 😦

        1. The inability to accept what is: I think that’s definitely a part. I remember listening to Pico Iyer at the Bangalore Lit Fest last year and he made a remark about finding paradise in the middle of fearsome reality. Rather than run from reality in search of a pristine paradise that may never be.

            1. He said this in the context of being in Benares and finding its residents enjoying a sense of peace and acceptance in spite of the end of life rituals that went on around them day and night. How does one do this? I don’t think there’s one single way. Personally, I am trying to not live in denial. To not turn away from the ugly side of life. And in most situations, ask myself what I can do right now, and if there’s anything, go and do it. If nothing, then cry a little and move on.

Any thoughts?